Twilight Book Review

Morning Bookworms,

I’m back with another review, this time on one of my teenage favourites Twilight. I first read this when I was about 18 years old and simply loved it at the time. I couldn’t get enough of Edward Cullen. Since reading it again, I still enjoyed it but it has lost some of tht spark for me. Do any of you feel the same?

Title: Twilight

twilight cover

Twilight Book Cover. Love the simplicity of this cover.

Author: Stephanie Meyers

Series: The Twilight Saga

Published by: Little, Brown and Company

Genre: YA/Fantasy/Paranormal

Pages:498

Format: Paperback

Sources: Goodreads

Summary

Isabella Swan moves to small town Forks to live with her dad Charlie. As if starting a new school wasn’t scary enough, she meets the mysterious Edward Cullen. With his striking golden eyes, pale skin and strange manner, Bella is determined to find out all she can about him. Unbeknown to her is that the closer she gets to him and revealing the truth of his real identity, the more in danger she becomes. Twilight is a seductive romance that will have readers wanting to read on right until the very last page.

My Thoughts

I must admit I hadn’t heard of the Twilight series until the announcement of the first film release. After seeing the trailer I instantly rushed out to buy a copy of the first book. I quickly read through the novel and finished it within a couple of days. At the time I thought the book was brilliant and I couldn’t get enough of the series. I’ve since reread the book and yes I still think its a really good read but I didn’t quit feel the same about it.

The plot is a typical boy meets girl and they fall in love. The only snag is that one of them is a human and the other is a blood sucking vampire.

Initially I thought Bella was a great heroine and protagonist but on second reading I found her to be a bit boring. She arrives in Forks to live with her dad and instantly moans about her surroundings. She clearly doesn’t want to be in Forks and doesn’t seem willing to try and make the best of things whilst there. She calls her dad by his first name Charlie even though she claims she’s not allowed to call him by his first name. On Bella’s first day of school she encounters the handsome Edward Cullen in the school canteen. She’s drawn to his looks and mannerisms. Bella later then finds him sitting in her biology class and places herself next to him. However this first encounter doesn’t quite go to plan, Edwards reaction to her sitting by him shocks her and he pulls away from her as if repulsed by her. Little does she know he wants to drink her blood and quickly becomes infatuated with her. For the majority of the story, Bella has a longing to be around or close to Edward a much as possible. This can become a bit tedious as in some places the action can be quie slow or even sometimes you get a build up to what you think is going to be a great scene only to transported forward to the after effects.

The other main character in Twilight is of course the vampire himself, Edward Cullen. I have to admit if I was Bella I think I would be infatuated with him too. He’s pale skinned with deep golden eyes, is well read, plays the piano and shows up at any given moment to protect you……how could any woman resit!! Edward is a very strong determined character He goes against what being a vampire means even if it means being destroyed or rejected by his family. For me, out of the two main characters Edward was the one that I enjoyed reading about. Meyers description of him is excellent as it really gives you a real sense as to what Edward looks like and also what hes feeling at any one given moment.

Twilight is supported by a host of other character which include werewolf Jacob. I warmed to Jacob straight away. If I was Bella I would love him as a close companion. The Cullen family are a right mixed bag of vampires yet they are interesting to read about and all bring their own talents to the survival of their clan. Of course no decent vampire story wouldn’t be complete without a gang of bad vampires hell bent on destroying the Cullens and Bella.

Overall I did enjoy Twilight each time I read it and honestly I will no doubt pull it out off my bookshelf in the near future to enjoy all over again. I think it has been hyped up bit especially due partly to the film I would imagine but nonetheless it is a good enjoyable and fairly fast read.

I give Twilight 4 bookworms.

Leave a Reply

