Fairyloot July Unboxing Review

Evening Bookworms,

I’m back to blogging. Today’s review is going to be slightly different as I wont be reviewing a book as such. Instead I’m going to be talking about my first ever Fairyloot subscription box.

DSCN2259

This is what the Fairyloot boxes look like when delivered.

Disclaimer

The following post has not been sponsored in any sense or form. I do not receive any commission from any links mentioned. All thoughts and views are my own.

I discovered Fairyloot a few months back on Instagram and instantly fell in love with them. If your unfamiliar with them, then Fairyloot is a monthly subscription box packed with literature related goodies which include a novel. Each box is based on a theme. It is delivered to your door on a monthly basis. The boxes can be purchased either singularly, 3 monthly or as a six monthly subscription. They are based in the UK but ship internationally. For more information, please go check them out, you wont be disappointed. I’ll leave a link at the end of this post.

DSCN2261

The theme for July was Pirates and Power.

This was my first Fairyloot purchase. I was so excited when it arrived and opened it as soon as I got in from work. The delivery time was really fast. I had an email the day before it arrived informing me that my box was on the way. It arrived in perfect condition and was really well packaged inside. Hidden beneath the famous purple and silvery paper worms were all of the gifts just waiting to be picked out like special chocolates and devoured.

I’m going to talk you all through what I received in my box, so the next few sections will contain some spoilers. If you have purchased a July box and have still yet to open it, you might want to skip over these sections to avoid ruining the surprise for yourself.

Without further ado, lets crack on.

The theme for Julys box was Pirates and Power. DSCN2273

First up was a black tote bag from Alice in Wonderbookland. Its a good strong bag that is adorned with a white pirate ship print along with the words “I ship it”. This bad will be perfect for carrying my man reads around over the summer months.

Next up is a pirate bounty lip balm from a company called Geeky Clean. This is coconut in flavour and is lovely on the lips. Even the casing itself is decorated with so much detail, its a lovely item to carry round. Geeky Clean provide two items in the July box. The other one being a bath bomb named Frostblood and Fire blood. Th bomb is red and blue in colour. This ties in with the ARC book that’s included in the subscription. Even though I’m yet to use it, it gave off a wonderful fruity scent which made my box smell amazing when I came to opening it up. Looking forward to using this bomb.

The box also contained a beautiful notebook made by Museum and Galleries. They sent out two different covers. I received the Treasure Island theme which was a lovely foil image set against a black background.

DSCN2277

Also included was a bookmark to colour in from the company Behind the Pages. I love this idea of being able to create your own bookmark in a sense and colour it how you like. Great idea, so thumbs up to Behind the Pages.

A subscription box wouldn’t be complete without the famous Funko Pops. Two different characters were sent out to coincide with the theme of the ARC book. My box contained a Jon Snow (Game of Thrones) keyring. The other keyring I believe was Daenerys.

DSCN2278

Lipbalm, Jon Snow Funko Pop and Bathbomb.

The first of the two books was the ARC copy of Frostblood by Elly Blake. Two covers were released and I received the Frostblood one. Its a beautiful blue and grey cover. The other cover has the Fireblood design on it. This novel is set to be released next year in 2017. I’m hoping to do a review for this book as soon as I can so please stay tuned for it. The book also came with a bookmark showing both cover designs.

DSCN2275

Frostblood by Elly Blake

The other book I received is by Freedom Matthews and is entitled Inherited. This book ties in with the pirate theme of the box. I was really happy to see that the publisher is non other then Benjamin from Of Tomes Publishing. There was a little note included from him in the box. I follow him on YouTube so its great to see that he’s doing so well with his publishing house. I was also lucky enough to be able to have my copy signed and dedicated to myself by freedom. The inner page is signed in gold pen. It really makes the book feel that extra bit special and personal to you. The final items that came with the book were a personalised letter from freedom and a postcard depicting the cover.

DSCN2276

Inherited by Freedom Matthews

Each Fairyloot box also contains a unique hashtag code which will be found in one other box. This means that you can hopefully find your Fairyloot buddy and chat about the box and contents together. Mine is #fairylootcupid so if your out there and reading this, then please get in touch :).

As you can see this box was jam packed with lively goodies. I can safely say that it out did my expectations by far. Unfortunately I’ve now missed out on the August box as its already sold out but I am definitely going to be looking into purchasing a 6 month subscription when the September box is announced.

DSCN2280

If any bookworms out there received a July box, please leave a comment down below letting me know what you think and what your favourite item was. As mentioned earlier I am planning on reviewing both books contained in the box. It may be a while yet as my TBR list is always expanding so please bare with me.

I hope you enjoyed reading all about my first experience of a Fairyloot box and maybe its even inspired you to try a box out for yourself.

Links

Fairyloot http://www.fairyloot.com/

Of Tomes Publishing http://www.oftomes.com/

Behind the Pages https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/behindthepages

Geeky Clean http://geekyclean.com/

Alice in Wonderbookland http://alicewonderbookland.wix.com/rabbithole

Funko Pop http://funko.com/collections/pop

Follow Freedom Matthews on Twitter: @FreedomMatthews

Follow Elly Blake on Twiiter: @elly_blake or visit her site http://ellyblake.com/

Leave a Reply

