Me Before You Book Review

Hi Bookworms, I’m back with another reivew today, this time its Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I’m sad to say that I did not enjoy this book at all. I really hoped that I would live it but unfortunaltely it just wasnt for me.

Title: Me Before You

DSCN2237

Me Before You, out in cinemas now

Author: Jojo Moyes

Series: N/A

Published by: Puffin

Genre: Romance/Adult

Pages: 481

Format: Paperback

Sources: Goodreads

Summary

Louisa Clark knows a fair amount of different things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She loves working in the little cafe, The Buttered Bun. She also knows that she may no longer lover her long term boyfriend Patrick.

There is one thing that Louisa doesn’t know, the fact that she is going to lose her job and that an unlikely chancing is going to keep her sane.

Will Traynor knows the motorcycle accident he was involved in has changed his life forever, so much so that he know longer has the desire to live. Life has become a joyless task for him and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to it.

Louisa is about to burst into Will’s life in a whirl of colour. Neither of them know that their going to change each other for the rest of time.

My Thoughts

Me Before You has raised so much hype recently, with the up and coming movie release starring Emilia Clarke and Sam Claffin. I was interested to see what all the fuss was about and so purchased a copy of the book. I’m not normally one to dislike a novel, like many others I will often agree that a great piece of work has been written. This time unfortunately I cannot say that. I didn’t really like hardy any of Me Before You………queue the many screams of disagreement being hurled at the computer screen at this point. I’m sorry if this upsets you but I could just not get along with this book.

The main protagonist Louisa Clark, was a character I found to be a bit annoying. At 26 years of age she seemed to be quite content with plodding along doing her job at the Buttered Bun and bickering like a teenager with her older sister. To me she seems the sort of person who could have pushed herself and gone on to do much better things with her life. Its only when she loses her job that we see her being forced to go and try something new. It is only when she meets Will that she starts to come out of her shell more and do more things in her life. Will is the ignition and kick start that Louisa needs to get going.

I can say though, that I found her to be kind-hearted especially when it comes to Will. She was determined to keep helping him even when he was mean to her at the beginning. She goes out of her way to plan days out for Will in order to make him see that life is worth living.

Her fashion sense adds one of the very few fun and quirky elements to the book. I looked forward to seeing what she would be wearing to work each day. Moyes’ writing and descriptions of her were well written so much so that I could really picture this odd looking person trying to figure out how best to make Will find some happiness.

I felt so sorry for Wills character. He’s gone from being a successful businessman and enjoying life, to a man now confined to a wheelchair with very little movement due to the motorcycle accident he was involved in. He’s become convinced that life is no longer worth living. This in a way annoyed me because it comes across as though all disabled people don’t want to go on with life any more which is not the case. Many people I know that are confined to wheelchairs are really spirited individuals who go on to do a lot with their lives which I find really inspiring. Will has a supporting family, wealth, access to the best medical treatment and in the end a woman who loves him for just being him, yet he still wants to end his life.

Louisa’s partner Patrick is the complete opposite to Will. He’s a sport addict, who’s driven by fitness, looking good and constantly testing his body to the highest extremes. I feel like Patrick’s character is written into the book to really make clear how bad Wills condition is.

The end was very hard to read. I wont say too much but I couldn’t find anything romantic in it. I felt numb and shocked.

Overall I couldn’t really get into this novel. Even though its supposed to be classed as a romance, I couldn’t find any heart tugging prose that left you with a flutter in your stomach. As I headed towards the end I felt the ever foreboding dread of what was coming.

I’m therefore going to give Me Before You 1 bookworm out of 5.

Leave a Reply

