Zenith (The Androma Saga) #1 Review

Name: Zenith

DSCN2249

Zenith (The Androma Saga) #1.

Author: Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings

Series: The Androma Saga

Publisher: Mirabel Inc

Genre: YA/Science Fiction/Fantasy

Pages: 62

Format: e-book

Sources: Goodreads

Started: 21st June 2016

Finished: 21st June 2016

Summary

Andi, captain of the starship Marauder is known across the galaxy as the Bloody Baroness. Along with her all female crew, they strike fear and terror into the hearts of anyone they meet. However when one of their missions doesn’t go as planned, Andi and her crew are captured by space bounty hunters. The leader being a man from Andi’s past. Together they are forced to work as one in order to complete a job that has been requested of them.

On the other side of the galaxy, a ruthless leader known as Nor is plotting. Final pieces are beginning to fall into place which threaten to destroy the Mirabel galaxy.

My Thoughts

I have been looking forward to Zenith being released. I’ve followed and been a fan of Sasha now for some time, so I was excited when she announced that she was co writing a book with author Lindsay Cummings. I knew less about Lindsay but had heard many goof things about her other books. Science Fiction is not one of those genres that I usually read a lot of, but hearing about this book I was excited to dive right in. I was not disappointed.

The main character we follow is Andi (Androma) Racella. More typically, she is known as the Bloody Baroness across the Mirabel Galaxy. Early on we learn that Andi has taken many lives during her time as a “space pirate”. Together with her name the Bloody Baroness, she could be perceived as a cruel, violent person. I myself, don’t find her to be like this as the reader can clearly see that she does regret what she’s doing and does also show some remorse for the lives she taken. I think Andi sees ending someone’s life as kill or be killed. She has to do it in order to survive. She shows kindness to her crew as we find out that they have all suffered at some point in their lives.

The prologue of the book, had me gripped straight away. I wanted to keep reading on to see what was going to happen and who the character is. I’m not going to say any more than that about it, in order not to spoil it for anyone who’s yet to read the book.

Dexter, the lead bounty hunter is a character that I found to be quite mysterious. I want to learn more about his background….which I’m hoping will be revealed as the book goes on. Another character who I’m also finding mysterious is that of Cyprian. I like this about characters, as it makes you want to read on and find out how these people tick and work.

It’s a very quick read, due to it being released in small parts. I like this in a way as you don’t feel daunted about starting a big large book. The chunks are small enough to read in one sitting which is ideal if you have a busy schedule……or in my case a 10 month old to run round after.

The only slight complaint I have is that the word “fiking” was repeated quite a bit. After a while I began to pick up on it in the character speeches. I was wishing for them to use other words instead just to break the monotony. However this wasn’t a huge deal for me and I still enjoyed the book very much.

Overall I think that Zenith is a brilliant first book and start to the Androma saga and I am certainly looking forward to reading the next segments.

I’m giving Zenith 5 bookworms out of 5.

Leave a Reply

